Empowering our next generation of leaders.

While Minnesota may be a leader in education, our children of color are too often left behind. With one of the largest opportunity gaps in the country, we made a promise to our community—we will be there for you.

At Way to Grow, we support families with children from birth to age eight, empowering our next generation of leaders. We are proud to work with more than 1,700 individuals in Minneapolis and the surrounding suburbs—neighbors who work hard to provide for their children and are active in their community and their child’s education. With a team of talented Family Educators, we provide year-round services every day to Way to Grow families and their surrounding communities.

Meet Our Team

Carolyn Smallwood joined Way to Grow in 2004. She previously served as vice president for Sales and Marketing at Twin Cities Rise! and Executive Director of the Minnesota Minority Supplier Development Council (MMSDC) Prior to entering the nonprofit field, she was the Director of Supplier Diversity with ADC, the Broadband Company, and a senior business banker at U.S. Bancorp.

In 2014, the Star Tribune named Carolyn on one of the Twin Cities’ “Top African-Americans of Influence.” She currently serves on the Ciresi and Walburn Foundation Board of Directors, the African American Leadership Forum Board of Directors, Minnesota Comeback Board of Directors (where she serves as Co-Chair), and the MinneMinds Executive Committee. Carolyn also sat on Governor Mark Dayton’s Early Learning Council for four years. In 2014, she was selected by Mayor Betsy Hodges to co-chair the Cradle to K Cabinet. Other previous board positions include the MacPhail Center for Music, the College of Saint Benedict, the Jeremiah Program, the Citizen’s League, and the Children’s Theatre Company. She also served as a member of the Greater Twin Cities United Way’s Early Learning Executive Committee, as well as the Promise Neighborhood Solution Action Group.

Program Leadership

Ronel Robinson

rrobinson@mplswaytogrow.org

Patricia Hayes

pross@mplswaytogrow.org

Programming Staff

Alexa Rodriguez

arodriguez@mplswaytogrow.org

Alison Dakota

adakota@mplswaytogrow.org

Amanda Erickson

aerickson@mplswaytogrow.org

Amina Ammi

aammi@mplswaytogrow.org

Anthony Allen

aallen@mplswaytogrow.org

Eveline Rojas

erojas@mplswaytogrow.org

Juliet Cha

jcha@mplswaytogrow.org

Maria Soto

msoto@mplswaytogrow.org

Michelle Christofore

mchristofore@mplswaytofrow.org

Pamela Khang

pkhang@mplswaytogrow.org

Phoua Yang

pyang@mplswaytogrow.org

Oluwatomike Bali

tbali@mplswaytogrow.org

Roxanne Bell

rbell@mplswaytogrow.org

Roxanne Thiede

rthiede@mplswaytogrow.org

Ruth Gishen

rgishen@mplswaytogrow.org

Santa Rodriguez

srodriguez@mplswaytogrow.org

Shany Fahiye

sfahiye@mplswaytogrow.org

Tatiana Buckner

tbuckner@mplswaytogrow.org

Preschool Pals Staff

Craig Allen

callen@mplswaytogrow.org

Eka Nagoya

ehanif@mplswaytogrow.org

Willie Lane

wlane@mplswaytogrow.org

Development & Communications

Kim Bowman

kbowman@mplswaytogrow.org

Melissa Meyer

mmeyer@mplswaytogrow.org

Liz Woods

lwoods@mplswaytogrow.org

Kate Kinkade

kkinkade@mplswaytogrow.org

Chelsea DeLong

cdelong@mplswaytogrow.org

Data

Andrew Lindvall

alindvall@mplswaytogrow.org

Daniel Hanson

dhanson@mplswaytogrow.org

Tom Frank

tfrank@mplswaytogrow.org

Office and Administration

Mark Henderson

mhenderson@mplswaytogrow.org

Roggie Robinson

r.lrobinson@mplswaytogrow.org

Leadership

Sophie Kelley, Chair
Retired CEO, Associated Bank, Market Director

Michael Garrett, Vice Chair & Secretary
Senior Vice President, Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis

Laurie Lafontaine, Treasurer
Retired, Former Vice President

Gaye Adams Massey, Past Chair (Emeritus)
Chief Executive Officer
YWCA of St. Paul

Directors

Angela Slaughter
Senior Director, Counsel, Aetna, Inc.

Ann Yates
Senior Marketing Manager, 3M

Art Rolnick
Senior Fellow, Humphrey School of Public Affairs, University of Minnesota

Bob Barnett
Senior Fellow & Principal Consultant, MDA Leadership Consultants

Brian Crosby
Vice President, Community Accountability Officer, Associated Bank

Chris Mongeon, (Emeritus)
Wealth Advisor, Parable Wealth Partners

Dani Deering
Director, Associate General Counsel, nVent

Dave Nassif
Retired

Frank Schweigert
Professor in the Department of Philosophy in the College of Liberal Arts, Metropolitan State University

Jaime Stilson
Partner, Dorsey & Whitney

Janis Clay
Retired, Executive Director, Board Chair, Civic Caucus

Jeanne Ravich
Community Volunteer, Books to Grow Project

Jim Boyle
President, James R. Boyle & Associates

Julia Halberg
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Dean’s Cabinet, School of Public Health, University of Minnesota

Julie Baker (Emeritus)
Retired

Karen Contag
Community Volunteer

Kevin Nilan
Retired, 3M, Global Assessment Manager

Kyle Green
Senior Manager, National Department of Professional Practice, KPMG LLP

Laura Bohlander
President, LRE Foundation

Luis Moreno
Co-Founder, The TCBPN

Malcolm McDonald (Emeritus)
Retired

Mel Dickstein
Retired, Hennepin County District Court Judge

Nasibu Sareva (Emeritus)
Executive Director, African Development Center

Randy Sauter
Senior Manager, Information Security, US Bank

Vanessa Laird (Emeritus)
Executive Director, University of Minnesota Center for Integrative Leadership

Vickie Mattys
Community Volunteer

Yohuru Williams
Distinguished University Chair, Professor of History & Founding Director of the Racial Justice Initiative, University of St. Thomas

"Alison and Way to Grow give us access to resources, opportunities, and events that we never would have been able to experience otherwise."

Sydney, Way to Grow Parent

Our Stories

Paying it Forward

An early start and so much support truly paid off for Octavio. A fast learner, he would pick up new skills quickly and his comprehension consistently challenged his Family Educator to bring different and interesting lessons to the home.

Now a seventh-grader, Octavio’s performance in math and science far exceeded grade level. Yet rather than coasting through his classes, he stepped up to help those around him. “I was just able to grasp what was being taught and then helped others understand it as well,” he explains. Octavio was such an asset to his class that he was asked to help tutor kids in a summer school program.

All for One, One for All

With the help of Patricia, her Family Educator, Lauren was able to get her son Zachariah into speech and occupational therapy, then into a Head Start program. “He first came to us not talking and now we cannot get him to be quiet,” Patricia laughs. “Even this early, I think he knows he has some obstacles, but he is determined to overcome them.”

“Miss Patricia is my backup, my resource. I know I can count on her,” expresses Lauren. Patricia agrees: “We all just have a tight knit bond. Working with them has elevated my experience as a Family Educator.”

People to Look Up To

Often the first and last Way to Grow employee our preschool students see, Mr. Willie makes it a point to be not just a driver, but an integral part of their lives every day.

“We bond because I listen to them. Sometimes they have problems, sometimes they have concerns, and sometimes they just want someone to talk to,” Mr. Willie explains. “Each child is different, and they are so intelligent and energetic. When I look at our bus, I see that we have the makings of future lawyers, doctors, politicians—almost every type of position that will contribute to our community in the future.”

Culture to Culture

“Having Alison, having a native person as my Family Educator, has positively contributed to my experience at Way to Grow. There is something about sharing a culture; she just understands where I am coming from and what I am going through,” Sydney expresses. “She makes it easy and comfortable…. Alison and Way to Grow give us access to resources, opportunities, and events that we never would have been able to experience otherwise. They have been able to show us what community really is, and we are so grateful.”

    Your Name (required)

    Address

    City

    Zip

    Your Email (required)

    Phone

    Preferred contact method:
    EmailPhoneEither

    Available days:
    SunMonTuesWedsThursFriSat

    Time of day available:
    MorningAfternoonEvenings

    Services interested in:
    preschoolspecial projectsteen parentsadministrativeeventsother

    Opportunity interested in:

    Language(s) Spoken besides English:
    AmharicArabicHmongOromoSomaliSpanish

    Other languages spoken:

    Emergency contact (name, phone, relationship):

    Volunteer agreement (required):

    I understand that during the course of my volunteering at Way to Grow, I may come in contact with information that is deemed confidential. This includes, but is not limited to, personal information about Way to Grow participants. I understand that Way to Grow is required by law to keep this information confidential, and I will treat all information I come across as such unless I am told otherwise.

    I understand and agree that I am volunteering for Way to Grow at my own risk and request. I also give permission for the free use of my name, picture and voice in any broadcast, telecast, print account or any other account in any medium of the event being recorded.


    I Accept

    Additional Message: